#51B Joey Bailey Takes Wall Stadium Feature

WALL, NJ- Joey Bailey earned his first Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic ATQMRA powered by VP Racing Fuels feature victory of 2019 this weekend at Wall Stadium Speedway. Bailey dominated the day by winning his heat, drawing the pole starting position for the feature, and ultimately win the 25 lap main event.

This was the second race in as many weeks for the ATQMRA, after many teams experienced a quick turnaround after racing in Bethel, NY last weekend. 

While Joey Bailey won the first heat race of the evening, his teammate Geoffrey Sutton earned his first heat win of 2019 in second preliminary race of the event. The second heat race was slowed by one caution for debris, which was the only instance a yellow flag was thrown for the duration of the evening.

Photo Credit: Sean Case

With Bailey drawing the pole for the feature, the competition knew there was a lot of work to be done to get around the #51B to earn a potential victory. 

Buddy Sload, two-time feature winner in 2019, kept Bailey honest all night. However his efforts fell just short of winning his third consecutive feature of the season, bringing his Spitfire Chassis home in second. Sload will leave Wall Stadium with a slim 4 point margin in championship standings over Bailey. 

Ryan Tidman rounded out the podium yet again. Tidman’s consistency has earned him three, third place finishes through three races this season. Heat race winner Geoffrey Sutton would finish 4th. Kyle Taraska in the Berkeley College entry had a nice run finishing 5th. 

Other notables of the event include Dave Gorbatuk and Steve Craig, both making their 2019 debuts. They would finish 10th and 11th respectively.

Joey Bailey’s victory comes after earning two second place finishes through the first two events of 2019. Bailey’s 1.7 average finish through three races makes him a strong favorite to contend for his first ATQMRA championship this season.

The Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic ATQMRA powered by VP Racing Fuels will take the next two weekends off, before returning to Bethel Motor Speedway for the annual Pine Brook Reunion on Saturday, June 15th, 2019.

Race Results

Heat 1

  1. #51B Joey Bailey

  2. #36 Buddy Sload

  3. #1B Ryan Tidman

  4. #32 Dave Gorbatuk

  5. #73 Cole Mullen

Heat 2

  1. #51 Geoffrey Sutton

  2. #16 Kyle Taraska

  3. #75 Mark Yoder

  4. #39 Ronnie Mullen

  5. #95 Jeff Kot

  6. #55C Steve Craig 


  1. #51B Joey Bailey

  2. #36 Buddy Sload

  3. #1B Ryan Tidman

  4. #51 Geoffrey Sutton

  5. #16 Kyle Taraska 

  6. #39 Ronnie Mullen

  7. #95 Jeff Kot

  8. #75 Mark Yoder

  9. #73 Cole Mullen

  10. #32 Dave Gorbatuk

  11. #55C Steve Craig