Staff Report | Monday, October 7th, 2019

WALL TOWNSHIP, NJ- Geoffrey Sutton won his second Hoosier Tire-Mid Atlantic ATQMRA powered by VP Racing Fuels Feature Race of the 2019 campaign this weekend at Wall Stadium Speedway.

With only two points races remaining this season entering Wall Stadium Speedway this weekend, championship implications were on the line. While four drivers were mathematically eligible to earn the ATQMRA’s highest honor this November, most eyes were set on point leader Joey Bailey and current runner-up Buddy Sload. Sload entered the event 28 points behind Bailey, which helped set the stage for an intense, drama-filled race.

Speaking of Sload, he won the first heat race of the night in his Spitfire Chassis. Jeff Kot won the second heat race of the evening in his Behrents Performance Warehouse Hyper Chassis.

Kot had no regard for the championship battle, as he looked to steal the show for much of the early going of the 25 lap feature. After starting fifth, Kot sliced and diced his way to the lead in two laps. Kot out-dueled pole sitter Ronnie “The Rocket” Mullen in turns three and four to earn the top spot. Mullen, along with son Cole, had great runs in their own right by the time the dust settled.

Jeff Kot took advantage of the clean air ahead of him, pulling out to a near straightaway lead on the field. Meanwhile, the championship battle was heating up between Sload and Bailey. After starting 8th and 10th respectively due to handicapping, fans were brought to their feet witnesses many three and four wide passes as the drivers raced each other hard with their sights set on the lead.

The Sload and Bailey battle almost came to a head on lap four. After a full lap of side by side racing and crossovers, Sload and Bailey rubbed rails in turn 1. The hard racing incident earned Sload an advantage as he was able to pull away, and ultimately take advantage of Kot in lapped traffic to earn the lead. Bailey kept him honest and managed to get to third by the time the caution flew.

Bailey and Kot would tangle on the ensuing restart. Kot’s great run came to a premature end as he fell to the back half of the field as a result. Geoffrey Sutton would quietly sneak his way up to second in the midst of the Bailey-Kot incident.

For much of the late going, through a series or restarts, the top four drivers in championship standings were lined up within the top four starting positions. Those being Buddy Sload, Geoffrey Sutton, Joey Bailey and Ryan Tidman.

Sutton had a great restart in the late going. In thrilling fashion, Sutton went to the high side of Sload in turns one and two. He then set up the crossover move as Sutton got to the inside of Sload down the backstretch and then to the lead in turn three.

Sload tried to return the favor and make crossover move back on Sutton. However, Joey Bailey filled the gap Sload needed to make the move a success.

The two drivers made contact again for the second time in the race. Gridlocked, Bailey and Sload veered toward the banking on the exit of turn four. After nearly being forced across the yellow line, Sload came to a brief halt, bringing the caution out for the final time.

After the severity of alleged intent by Bailey, Sload looked to show his frustration to Bailey under caution. Due to the on-track actions of both drivers, Wall Stadium officials elected to send both championship favorites to the rear of the field with only five laps remaining in the race.

With the drama in the back, it was Sutton in the front. Geoffrey Sutton went on to earn his second victory of the season, both of which came at Wall Stadium Speedway. With the win, an Alan Mollot owned race car officially won every Wall Stadium ATQMRA points race this season, heading into Turkey Derby this November.

Ryan Tidman, racing the home-built Boyd Chassis, finished a sporty second. Tidman, entered the event tied for third in points with Sutton. Both drivers kept their championship hopes alive heading into the final race of the season at Bethel.

Anthony Payne racing for Michael J. Murray, earned his best finish of the season in third. Cole Mullen, competing on three-race used tires, brought his Mullen Brother’s Racing entry home in fourth. Cole’s father (and car owner) Ronnie Mullen, earned a sixth place finish as well. There were many people in attendance that were pleased to see the Mullen’s run so well collectively at their home track of Wall Stadium this weekend.

After their scuffles earlier in the race, Buddy Sload salvaged a fifth place finish and Joey Bailey managed to finish in seventh. Sload officially enters the championship race at Bethel 20 points, or five on-track positions behind Bailey. Sload is seeking his second ATQMRA Championship while Bailey seeks his first.

Other notables include the return of Paul Dodorico, earning a respectable 8th place finish. Dodorico was sidelined for much of the summer due to medical reasons. It was great to see a healthy and competitive Dodorico at the track this weekend.

Joey Payne III had a great outing finishing 9th. Payne III, at one point, drove from 15th towards the top 5, until an on-track incident derailed his efforts. After taking a leave from the competing, it was back in competitive form throughout the weekend at Wall Stadium.

Dave Gorbatuk picked up speed this race and turned some competetive laps. Gorbatuk brought home his Superior Automotive Spitfire Chassis in 10th.

Kot was sent to the rear of the field after the checkered flag flew due to a confrontation with Joey Bailey. Mark Yoder was disqualified for mistakenly ignoring the black flag due to a right rear brake malfunction during the event.

The Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic ATQMRA powered by VP Racing Fuels Championship Event will be held at Bethel Motor Speedway, on Saturday November 2nd, 2019.

Race Results:

Heat 1:

  1. #36 Buddy Sload

  2. #51B Joey Bailey

  3. #12 Anthony Payne

  4. #55 Paul Dodorico

  5. #39 Ronnie Mullen

  6. #91 Bobby Watkins

  7. #55C Steve Craig

  8. #02 Kyle Taraska DNS

Heat 2:

  1. #95 Jeff Kot

  2. #75 Mark Yoder

  3. #51 Geoffrey Sutton

  4. #1B Ryan Tidman

  5. #32 Dave Gorbatuk

  6. #67 Joey Payne III

  7. #73 Cole Mullen

  8. #16 Mike Glaser


  1. #51 Geoffrey Sutton

  2. #1B Ryan Tidman

  3. #12 Anthony Payne

  4. #73 Cole Mullen

  5. #36 Buddy Sload

  6. #39 Ronnie Mullen

  7. #51B Joey Bailey

  8. #55 Paul Dodorico

  9. #67 Joey Payne III

  10. #32 Dave Gorbatuk

  11. #55C Steve Craig

  12. #16 Mike Glaser

  13. #91 Bobby Watkins

  14. #95 Jeff Kot

  15. #75 Mark Yoder DQ

  16. #02 Kyle Taraska DNS