Joey Bailey in Victory Lane at Waterford.

Waterford, CT- For the fourth time this season, Joey Bailey earned an ATQMRA feature victory, winning The Greg Hodnett Memorial at The New London - Waterford Speedbowl. 

There is always excitement in the air when the Hoosier Mid-Atlantic ATQMRA powered by VP Racing Fuel visits Waterford, CT. Over the past few seasons, the series has become a fan-favorite and the drivers did not disappoint Saturday night. Buddy Sload started on the outside pole leading much of the first half of race. While setting the fastest lap of the evening, many believed Saturday would be his night yet again. Unfortunately, the defending ATQMRA Waterford winner (May, 2018) experienced a mechanical failure which would derail his efforts with sixteen laps remaining in the race. 

This caution provided the opportunity for an intense, wheel to wheel battle by respective championship leaders Matt Janisch, Joey Bailey, and Ryan Tidman in the closing laps of the 27-lap feature. With huge championship implications on the line, it was no secret these drivers would put on a show.

Ryan Tidman led the charge for much of the second half of the race, with Janisch and Bailey keeping him honest as the high speed battle thundered around the 3/8 mile Speedbowl. Bailey, who not only out-dueled points leader Janisch, but Tidman as well, passed Tidman for the lead off of the fourth corner with a handful of laps remaining. Bailey never looked back, adding another trophy to his collection winning a series high forth feature. With this victory, Joey Bailey has closed the points gap to four on-track positions, heading into the series’ championship event in Bethel, NY on Saturday, November 3rd, 2018.

Anthony Payne finished a very impressive forth, in his second start of 2018. Jeff Kot finished fifth, rounding out the top five of the fifteen car field.

The evening’s heat races were won by Buddy Sload and Cole Mullen. As mentioned, Sload would experience a mechanical issue in the feature, which resulted in a thirteenth place finish. Cole Mullen went on to finish a respectable sixth. 

Richie Davidowitz made a strong team debut finishing seventh. A special shoutout to New York racers Cameron Ruggiero, Chad Heywood and Jim Fleischman, who all made their 2018 Hoosier Mid-Atlantic ATQMRA debuts this weekend.

With great appreciation, we recognize Jeff Kot, who elected to sponsor this weekend’s event in honor of the late Greg Hodnett. On behalf of Kot and the ATQMRA, a portion of race day earnings and as well as the 50/50 raffle will be donated to the Hodnett family to assist them in their time of need.

The Hoosier Mid-Atlantic ATQMRA will conclude their 2018 campaign at Bethel Motor Speedway, on Saturday, November 3rd, 2018. The stage is set for a fierce championship battle, which will surely come down to the closing laps of the event.

Feature Results 

  1. #51B Joey Bailey

  2. #1B Ryan Tidman

  3. #48 Matt Janisch 

  4. #12 Anthony Payne

  5. #17 Jeff Kot

  6. #73x Cole Mullen

  7. #25 Richie Davidowitz

  8. #51 Joey Payne

  9. #23 Avery Stoehr

  10. #29 Cameron Ruggiero

  11. #42 Chad Heywood

  12. #5 Jim Fleischman

  13. #36 Buddy Sload

  14. #16 Kyle Taraska

  15. #39 Ronnie Mullen