October 8, 2016, Stafford Springs Ct.: Joey Bailey from Monroe Township NJ put his name in the history books by winning the first TQ Midget race run at the historic Stafford Motor Speedway. Bailey swept the day by winning his heat race and parking the Zuzzolo, Arts Radiator, Joie of Seating, Phenomenon Designs 02 TQ in Victory lane in the 30 lap feature using an ATQMRA legal engine package against the open indoor engines. The other heat race was won by Geoffrey Sutton of East Stroudsburg, Pa. 2016 series Champion Matt Janisch finished second with Ryan Tidman rounding out the podium finishers in the feature. Local Superstar Ted Christopher from Plainville CT had a strong run going when he was crashed from the lead on lap nine. The ATQMRA Fall Rules Meeting for the election of officers will take place on Sunday October 16th from 9 to noon in Fort Washington, Pa.

The front row of pole Sitter Ryan Tidman and Joey Bailey took the green with Bailey taking the lead on the initial lap with Matt Janisch close in tow. Bailey would lead until lap seven when he was involved in a tangle relegating him to the rear of the field. Ted Christopher assumed command of the race and lead lap nine when the battle for the lead with Janisch heated up entering the third turn. As the cars exited the cloud of dust Christopher was turned around and was piled into by several competitors ending his and their days.

The lap ten restart had Ryan Tidman on the pole with Sutton to his right. Sutton was able to power past Tidman on the restart and take the lead entering the first turn. Janisch would follow Sutton past Tidman into second and a classic battle for the lead would ensue. Sutton opened up a slight gap on Janisch but that was only short lived as Janisch started closing in. Janisch threw a cross over move on Sutton in an attempt to take the lead entering the first turn only to have Sutton cross him over exiting the second turn. Sutton would continue to fight off Janisch swapping the lead several times before he would loose the lead on lap 19. In the mean time Bailey was picking his way back into contention.

Bailey would make the decisive move of the race to take the lead for good from Janisch on lap 22 and start opening a gap on the two time champ. Bailey would cruise to nearly a 2.5 second victory over Janisch with Flying Ryan Tidman rounding out the podium. Sutton would fall to a fourth place finish with Mike Glaser of Jackson NJ rounding out the top five.

This was the first race for the lightening fast Three Quarter Midgets at Stafford Motor Speedway. Joey Bailey made history by being the first driver to put his name in the record books as a feature winning driver at the Historic Speedway.

The elated Bailey earned his first victory of the 2016 season and seemed relieved to finally park his 02 Bruce's Chassis mount in victory lane. Bailey was fast on a number of occasions this season only to meet with frustration. Tonight was different. He found the luck necessary to use the speed that was there all season to park it in Victory lane. He made certain to thank his mother, and father Russ Bailey for their support. He went on to thank Alan Mollott and the Boyd Team and Kevin O'toole for all of their support of his racing as well as the Zuzzollo family for providing him with a quality car and his sponsors Arts Radiator, the Joie of Seating, and Phenomenon Designs

The first driver to earn a win in a TQ midget at Stafford in the first heat race was 2014 Rookie of the year was Geoffrey Sutton. He started on the pole by Virtue of the luck of the draw. Sutton took the lead on the start with Janisch in tow leading every lap in the 8 lap qualifier. 2016 Rookie of the year Mike Glaser would work his way into the third position and hold that spot until the white flag when Ted Christopher would overtake him exiting the fourth turn to earn a position in the redraw for the feature.

The second 8 lap qualifier was won by Joey Bailey. He would lead every lap on his way to the heat race win. Brodheadsville, Pa's Matt Roselli finished second with Ryan Tidman earning the last spot in the feature race redraw.

The event's originally scheduled date was the previous Saturday October 1 where a strong field of competitors was planning to take part in Stafford's Fall Final. A number of competitors had commitments that prevented them from making the trip to Stafford for the rescheduled event. The entire Day's racing program was run under threatening conditions with light rain falling throughout the day. The track staff ran a professional and efficient show to get the racing action in before the rains hit.

Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic's Speed Shop Precise Racing Products came on board to sponsor the two open sanction ATQMRA races at Stafford and The Turkey Derby at Wall by providing Gift certificates redeemable for product. Hard luck racers Chris Hirt and Chad Parks were awarded fifty dollar certificates.

The fall rules meeting as well as the election of officers will be held on this Sunday, October 16th, at the Hilton Garden Inn in Ft.Washington, 530 Pennsylvania Ave, Fort Washington, PA19034 from 9amto 12pm. Please note that this is a change from where we have held the last two meetings. Everyone is encouraged to submit agenda recommendations to Buddy Sload at Buddysload@gmail.com

The next on track event for the ATQRMA will be at Wall Stadium for the Annual Turkey Derby on the Saturday following Thanksgiving. 

ATQMRA News and Notes: Baiely earned $500 for his win. Motorsports broadcaster Jack Arute spent a large portion of the day hanging out in the ATQMRA Pit area enjoying his time with he open cockpit teams. Arute made a start at the Indoor races in Atlantic City a few years ago. Blu Metz turned laps in the Geoffrey Sutton 461 at Pocono International Raceway this past Thursday to test a temporary front straight away oval that will see both modern and Vintage TQ Midgets racing during the 2017 Indy Race weekend at Pocono. Bill Force Jr. made his first start in the Metz Racing Driver Development 01 owned by Fred Delibero.

TQ Midget Feature 30 laps. 1. 02 Joey Bailey 2. 48 Matt Janisch 3. 1B Ryan Tidman 4. 461 Geoffrey Sutton 5. F8 Mike Glaser 6. 13 Ted Christopher 7. 01 Bill Force Jr. 8. 67 Joey Payne III 9. 97 Chris Hirt 10. Matt Roselli 11. 06 Chad Parks

Heat Race 1. 1. 461 Geoffrey Sutton 2. 48 Matt Janisch 3. 13 Ted Christopher 4. F8 Mike Glaser 5. 67 Joey Payne III 6. 01 Bill Force Jr.

Heat Race 2. 1. 02 Joey Bailey 2. 1B Ryan Tidman 3. 98 Matt Roselli 4. Chris Hirt 5. 06 Chad Pa